Home » Fitbit » March 1, 2015

March 1, 2015

As I woke this morning at 4 a.m., I could hear the rain falling outside. Since it’s only the first day of March, the prospect of it being a cold rain, if not freezing, rain became my first thought. There I lay, cozy under the covers. Then the mean voice started, “get up, you are going to do this! If you don’t get up now what is the point of living?” I promise that inner voice can be harsh, but she knows she has to be an extremist for me to pay attention.

Getting into shape, losing weight and toning up are all about living better, healthier, so in a sense her asking me what the point of living would be when I want to simply not get out of bed on a cold, rainy Sunday morning, is fair. It’s about discipline. The spoiled voice in my head says, “you’re 54, you’ve worked so hard all your life, sleep in on a Sunday morning, goodness sakes. Why push yourself so hard?”

Why? Because I’m tired of feeling old and fat.

Out of bed I got, walked the dogs, fed them and the cats. Let Billy the Cockatiel out of his cage. Washed my face, brushed my hair and teeth, got dressed, put on my running shoes and headed to the gym all before 5 a.m.

The gym was empty. Clearly there are folks getting to enjoy sleeping in.

I walked 3.25 miles on the treadmill with an incline of 8, average speed between 3.5 and 4.6, when I felt like adding a bit of a jog.

According to Fitbit I’ve already hit my goal for the day. Seems a bit disappointing at 7:30 a.m. to be done with my goal for physical activity for the day. The Fitbit and I are going to make some adjustments.

Breakfast was 2 hard boiled eggs and a couple spheres of mango. I’m also working on hydrating. I have always thought I drank a lot of water, but I haven’t drank what I should be. A habit to take up, maybe it’ll smooth out some wrinkles!

I’m going to take a picture of my fat self this morning, but that won’t be posted until I reach my goal of 105 lbs.

Welcome to March everyone!

Leave a Reply

